Institute of Applied Powder Metallurgy and Ceramics at RWTH Aachen e. V.

Events

IWM-IAPK-Kolloquium 2022

The Institute for Materials Applications in Mechanical Engineering (IWM) at RWTH Aachen University and the Institute for Applied Powder Metallurgy and Ceramics at RWTH Aachen e.V.. (IAPK) invite you to next year's colloquium of the institute network under the title "Design and construction with hard materials". On 20th September 2022, ten interesting lectures on current research topics from science and industry await you in Aachen. The spectrum will range from classic structural ceramics to ceramic composites, hard metals and tool steels.

In a comprehensive overview lecture, Professor R. Danzer will introduce design with ceramics, taking strength and fracture statistics into account, before practical examples of dental ceramics and ceramic valves follow. Special features in the production and design of composites will be addressed in lectures on ceramic-metal brazing composites by Alumina Systems and tungsten fibre-reinforced tungsten materials by Dr. J. W. Coenen. Factors influencing the deformation & fatigue behaviour of WC-Co carbides as well as their strength in the additively manufactured material variant will be discussed by Dr. Klünsner and Ms. S. Fries. Mr. L. Scholl will report on the design of high-strength tools made of tool steel under multi-axial cyclic loading. Finally, anyone who would like to can take advantage of a tour of the institute at the IAPK/IWM for a joint exchange. Further information please refer to the program (in German).

You can obtain information and register by e-mail info@iapk.rwth-aachen.de or by telephone (+49 241 80-95534).

IWM - IAPK - Kolloquium 2021

"Additive Fertigung harter Werkstoffe"

On 23 September 2021, the IWM-IAPK Colloquium could finally take place in Aachen. Under the title "Additive Manufacturing of Hard Materials", numerous top-class speakers gave lectures and invited discussions on the topic. The event attracted over 60 participants from industry to Aachen. Among the programme items was the tribute to Prof. Horst Maier (founder and honorary member of the IAPK, formerly IPAK). On the occasion of his 80th birthday, which he celebrated this year, Prof. Broeckmann and Mrs. Scharrer (Göller Verlag) presented him with a special edition of the CFI (Ceramic Forum International), featuring articles by his former doctoral students. The event, which was delayed by the Covid situation and could finally take place in person, was a complete success and inspired all those present. The personal exchange and the debates stimulated by the lectures were particularly enjoyed.

Institut für Anwendungstechnik Pulvermetallurgie und Keramik an der RWTH Aachen e.V.

Veranstaltungen

IWM-IAPK-Kolloquium 2022

Das Institut für Werkstoffanwendungen im Maschinenbau (IWM) der RWTH Aachen und das Institut für Anwendungstechnik Pulvermetallurgie und Keramik an der RWTH Aachen e.V. (IAPK) laden Sie im kommenden Jahr zum Kolloquium des Institutsverbundes unter dem Titel „Auslegen und Konstruieren mit harten Werkstoffen“ ein. Am 20. September 2022 erwarten Sie in Aachen zehn interessante Vorträge zu aktuellen Forschungsthemen aus Wissenschaft und Industrie. Dabei wird der Bogen von der klassischen Strukturkeramik über Keramikverbunde und Hartmetalle bis hin zu Werkzeugstählen gespannt.

In einem umfassenden Übersichtsvortrag wird Professor R. Danzer in das Konstruieren mit Keramik unter Berücksichtigung der Festigkeit und Bruchstatistik einführen, bevor Praxisbeispiele zu Dentalkeramik und Keramikventilen folgen. Auf Besonderheiten bei der Fertigung und Auslegung von Keramik-Metall-Lötverbunden wird von Dr. Sauerzapfe von Alumina Systems eingegangen. Einflussfaktoren auf das Verformungs- & Ermüdungsverhalten von WC-Co Hartmetallen sowie deren Festigkeit in der additiv gefertigten Werkstoffvariante werden von Dr. Klünsner und Frau Fries diskutiert. Über die Auslegung hochfester Werkzeuge aus Werkzeugstahl unter mehrachsiger zyklischer Belastung ausgelegt berichtet Herr Scholl. Wer möchte kann abschließend eine Institutsführung am IAPK/IWM zum gemeinsamen Austausch nutzen.

Weitere Informationen können Sie dem Programmheft entnehmen.

Anmelden können Sie sich per E-Mail (info@iapk.rwth-aachen.de) und selbstverständlich auch telefonisch unter +49 241 80-95534.

IWM - IAPK - Kolloquium 2021

"Additive Fertigung harter Werkstoffe"

Am 23. September 2021 konnte endlich das IWM-IAPK Kolloquium in Aachen stattfinden. Unter dem Titel „Additive Fertigung harter Werkstoffe“ hielten zahlreiche hochkarätige Redner Vorträge und luden zu Diskussionen rund um das Thema ein. Das Event lockte über 60 Teilnehmer aus der Industrie und der Wirtschaft nach Aachen. Zu den Programmpunkten zählte unter anderem die Ehrung von Herrn Prof. Horst Maier (Gründer und Ehrenmitglied des IAPK, ehem. IPAK). Anlässlich seines 80. Geburtstags, den er in diesem Jahr gefeiert hat, bekam er von Prof. Broeckmann und Frau Scharrer (Göller Verlag) eine Sonderausgabe der CFI (Ceramic Forum International) überreicht, die mit Artikeln seiner ehemaligen Doktoranden bestückt ist. Das durch die Corona-Lage verzögerte Event, welches nun endlich In-Persona stattfinden konnte, war ein voller Erfolg und begeisterte alle Anwesenden. Besonders der persönliche Austausch und die durch die Vorträge angeregten Debatten wurden sehr genossen.